• Join SGMerc for Exclusive Perks!

Welcome to SGMerc - the largest Mercedes-Benz site for Owner and Enthusiasts in Singapore!

SGMerc is the official club for all current & previous owners of Mercedes-Benz cars in Singapore. SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE ACCOUNT TODAY!

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join us today!

Grrr Sound on Under-Carriage

Guest Lim BS

Dear Members,

I am a newbie in this forum. Just got myself a 05 W211 recently and found that there is a Grrrrrr sound on the under-carriage when driving. Is this normal? Kindly advise.

Many thanks!

it could be the "SBC" is engage and then the sound comes after the brakes are disengage..Bro are you familiar with "SBC"

2005 got SBC in E class? dun think so for singapore side.

however the problem lim speaks about sounds oddly similar to the SBC / HOLD vibration problem encountered for the W211s.

or it could be engine mounting age? my 05 cclass also going thru such vibrations.

Hmm, sorry don't know 05 one don't have leh.... anyway i am driving 06, maybe LIm you step hard twice on the brakes when car at "D" stop and then check if your car has the SBC displayed on the dash metered ..if it says SBC "hold just your car has it and not to worry lor

willy, all Pre-FL models all have the SBC, actually from launch day already got le, my previous Pre-FL W211 also have it & kana recall for SBC issues.

oh. i never knew that. SE told me that was a new feature when i went to test the W211 FLs..

Thank you Willy... that was very informative. So its the SBC... a technology problem. It looks like quite a rampant issue if so many owners can having this complaint.

Welcome Lim. always happy ta help. =)