• Join SGMerc for Exclusive Perks!

Welcome to SGMerc - the largest Mercedes-Benz site for Owner and Enthusiasts in Singapore!

SGMerc is the official club for all current & previous owners of Mercedes-Benz cars in Singapore. SIGN UP FOR YOUR FREE ACCOUNT TODAY!

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, join us today!

Hi All - Newbie Intro

Guest Ronkovic

Guest Ronkovic

Hi All,

Guess this is my virgin post in this forum.

Recently purchased a 1991 W201 190E and am glad to find that there's a small active community of Merc owners in SG. :) Although my family has had a W210 E200 and currently a W211 E240, I'm really new to the Merc scene as I haven't really played around much with Mercs as my own project car for the last 3 years was a BMW E34 "520i".

Am quite keen to do up the W201 and were wondering if there's any other W201ers here who can share some tips and knowledge on the car. To start off, here's some stuff I'm looking at for the moment:

- The car came with stock 15" rims. Am looking for a set of 17" rims (Not sure if 18"s would be OK? - This would be preferred although I'd reckon it'd make my car run slow like a tank). I like those multi-spoke Carlsson types, or could settle for the big 5 spoke types. Was wondering if anyone has recommendations on where'd be a good place to look for merc rims? What's the sort of size and offset I should look at?

- Are there any brands/options for more sportier suspension sets (i.e. shocks and lowering springs) Do brands like Bilstein, Eibach or Sachs provide kits for W201s? Any lobangs where to look at?